Register Now

Already have an account?


Remember me

Lost Your Password?
Main Menu
Collector's Guide Table of Contents
Recent Visitors

8 minutes ago

18 minutes ago

28 minutes ago

1 hour 36 minutes ago

2 hours 21 minutes ago

6 hours 31 minutes ago

6 hours 32 minutes ago

6 hours 38 minutes ago
Report message: *
* = Required

2008 Mythopoeic Awards announced

Subject: 2008 Mythopoeic Awards announced
by Urulöké on 2008/8/18 12:55:23

Congrats to Diana and David - their book The Company They Keep won the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies. Here is the complete list of winners this year.


Press Release: Mythopoeic Awards: 2008 Winners Announced

August 17, 2008

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the winners for the 2008 Mythopoeic Awards. Download the press release in PDF format. For more information about the awards, visit the Awards section of this site.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

* Catherynne M. Valente, The Orphan’s Tales, consisting of In the Night Garden (Spectra) and In the Cities of Coin and Spice (Spectra)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

* J.K. Rowling, The Harry Potter series, consisting of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s [Sorcerer’s] Stone (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Bloomsbury); and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Bloomsbury)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

* Diana Pavlac Glyer; appendix by David Bratman, The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community (Kent State University Press, 2007)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

* T.A. Shippey, editor, The Shadow-Walkers: Jacob Grimm’s Mythology of the Monstrous (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2005)
© 2016 TolkienGuide.com and respective authors. Contact Us