Sign In
Tolkien Collector's Guide
Important links:

Guide to Tolkien's Letters
-
Winner of the 2019 Tolkien Society award for Best Website

4 May, 2020
2020-5-4 7:43:46 PM UTC
I've never used this site before but have just ordered from here at a good price £38.78

agreatread
4 May, 2020
2020-5-4 8:48:01 PM UTC
Thanks for that.

Never heard of that site either. Gave them a go and ordered (Voucher Code: 3POUNDSOFF) for £3 discount on first order. Good price on some other pre-orders also. Will see how this order works out first.
4 May, 2020
2020-5-4 8:49:56 PM UTC

Trotter wrote:

insurrbution wrote:
Aside from a few illustrations and how the book is presented, nothing in this is "new" or exclusive.

I don't have my copy yet, but can you clarify why you think this?

Out of interest, why do you think it is *not* the case? So far as we are aware, there are the three (IIRC) small illustrations and the lecture reprinted from MC, so nothing really new to expect (though sounds like lecture might be slightly different as onthetrail states). I'm certainly not expecting anything new, but will be happy if there is.
4 May, 2020
2020-5-4 9:20:13 PM UTC

Stu wrote:

Trotter wrote:

insurrbution wrote:
Aside from a few illustrations and how the book is presented, nothing in this is "new" or exclusive.

I don't have my copy yet, but can you clarify why you think this?

Out of interest, why do you think it is *not* the case? So far as we are aware, there are the three (IIRC) small illustrations and the lecture reprinted from MC, so nothing really new to expect (though sounds like lecture might be slightly different as onthetrail states). I'm certainly not expecting anything new, but will be happy if there is.

I checked back and indeed CT did make some alterations to the text as mentioned in the foreword to Monsters.