Register Now

Already have an account?


Remember me

Lost Your Password?
Main Menu
Collector's Guide Table of Contents
Recent Visitors

2 hours 47 minutes ago

4 hours 8 minutes ago

4 hours 26 minutes ago

5 hours 13 minutes ago

6 hours 54 minutes ago

7 hours 34 minutes ago

8 hours 27 minutes ago

9 hours 4 minutes ago
Mythopoeic Awards Announced
Posted by Urulöké on Aug 10, 2007 (1746 views)

2007 Mythopoeic Award Winners

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Patricia A. McKillip, Solstice Wood (Ace Books)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

Catherine Fisher, Corbenic (Greenwillow)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond, The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and
(Houghton Mifflin, 2006)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

G. Ronald Murphy, S.J., Gemstone of Paradise: The Holy Grail in
Wolfram’s Parzival
(Oxford University Press, 2006)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
adults published during 2006 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the
Inklings”. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not
selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from
a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series
becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic
Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger
readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers),
in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for
eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award.
The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will
be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
the last three years (2004–2006) are eligible, including finalists for
previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon XXXVIII in
Berkeley, California, on August 5, 2007. A complete list of Mythopoeic
Award winners is available on the Society web site:


The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
speeches, and selected book reviews are also
listed in this on-line section. For more information about the
Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M.
Farrell, P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486,

© 2016 TolkienGuide.com and respective authors. Contact Us