Login

Or
Register Now


Already have an account?
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Your Password?
Main Menu
Collector's Guide Table of Contents
Recent Visitors

wellinghall
17 minutes ago

Khamûl
44 minutes ago

Beren
1 hour 30 minutes ago

Deagol
1 hour 40 minutes ago

laurel
1 hour 49 minutes ago

Findegil
1 hour 54 minutes ago

Red
2 hours 29 minutes ago

Trotter
3 hours 19 minutes ago

2013 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists Announced

| Filed under: Collecting NewsUrulöké | May 14, 2013 @ 11:54 am (Views: 28970)

The Mythopoeic Society
PRESS RELEASE: May 14, 2013

2013 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
Alan Garner, Weirdstone trilogy, consisting of The Weirdstone of Brisingamen (Collins), The Moon of Gomrath (Collins), and Boneland (Fourth Estate)
Caitlin R. Kiernan, The Drowning Girl (Roc)
R.A. MacAvoy, Death and Resurrection (Prime Books)
Tim Powers, Hide Me Among the Graves (William Morrow)
Ursula Vernon, Digger, vols. 1-6 (Sofawolf Press)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature
Jorge Aguirre and Rafael Rosado, Giants Beware! (First Second)
Sarah Beth Durst, Vessel (Margaret K. McElderry)
Merrie Haskell, The Princess Curse (HarperCollins)
Christopher Healy, The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom (Walden Pond Press)
Sherwood Smith, The Spy Princess (Viking Juvenile)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
Robert Boenig, C.S. Lewis and the Middle Ages (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)
John Bremer, C.S. Lewis, Poetry, and the Great War 1914-1918 (Lexington Books, 2012)
Jason Fisher, ed., Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays (McFarland, 2011)
Verlyn Flieger, Green Suns and Faërie: Essays on J.R.R. Tolkien (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)
Corey Olsen, Exploring J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
Nancy Marie Brown, Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)
Jo Eldridge Carney, Fairy Tale Queens: Representations of Early Modern Queenship (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)
Bonnie Gaarden, The Christian Goddess: Archetype and Theology in the Fantasies of George MacDonald (Fairleigh Dickinson Univ. Press, 2011)
Michael Saler, As If: Modern Enchantment and the Literary Prehistory of Virtual Reality (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)
David Sandner, Critical Discourses of the Fantastic, 1712-1831 (Ashgate, 2011)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2012 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2010–2012) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon 44, to be held from July 12-15, 2013, in East Lansing, Michigan. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: David D. Oberhelman, awards@mythsoc.org

Leave a comment

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.


Tolkien Collecting News Archive