4 hours 1 minute ago

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2) 3 »

Re: Looking for the poem "Knocking at the Door" by Tolkien
Just popping in
From Denmark
Group:
Shirefolk
I am by no means an expert on copyright (far from it, I'd say), but I have tried to understand — or at least read — the Danish copyright law, which is what normally applies to myself.

Under that law, I can legally make an analogue copy of a work that I have legal access to, e.g. photocopy parts of a book, for my own private use. Thus, even if I had a copy of the relevant issue of The Oxford Magazine, I would not, as I understand it, be allowed to create a copy for you.

On the other hand it is my impression (and I emphasize that this is an impression only) that there is a long tradition in academic / scholarly circles of helping others with photocopies of hard-to-get works. If this impression is correct, there might be some provisions for limited copies for research purposes, though I don't know these (another possibility is of course that it is instead a silent agreement by which everybody wink at a practice which, though not entirely legal, still benefits everybody).

Not very helpful, I'm afraid, but then I am in any case not in a position to help you with the poem, since I don't have any copy of it myself.

Posted on: 2013/8/5 13:19

Thain
From California, USA
Group:
Thain
Shirefolk
Fellowship
Here is a good resource from the US Copyright Office talking about Fair Use and Educators/teachers/libraries and making copies. It does not try to call out what is right or wrong, only explain the laws as they currently stand and what implications that may have for teachers, etc.

http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ21.pdf