Tolkien Collector's Guide
Important links:

Guide to Tolkien's Letters
-
Winner of the 2019 Tolkien Society award for Best Website

Map of Middle Earth 1970 1st Impression

14 Jan, 2009
2009-1-14 3:05:16 AM UTC

I have one in decent, although not fantastic shape, that has been with me for years. I can find very little information on it and none for sale. If I were so inclined to part with it, anyone have any idea what price range I should be looking to sell it at?

Thanks!

Note: I have attached a picture of a map from the same generation as an example (not an actual photo of mine)

308_496d566c18082.gif 330X500 px
17 Jan, 2009
2009-1-17 1:33:33 PM UTC
I'm no expert on this map or its value. But as there have been no other replies, I'll offer this comment. It is worth whatever you and a seller agree upon. Please do not think that I am being sarcastic. It may be difficult to put a value on it because it is an uncommon item. I search eBay A LOT for items and don't recall it coming up recently. An advanced search there did not turn up any (or even any similar ones) in any current auctions or at any eBay stores. So it's at least uncommon if not rare (a word used far too frequently on eBay.) Condition can add or detract from an item's value. If it were folded rather than stored flat or rolled up in a tube, that will hurt its value as will tears, creases, holes (usually from pinning to a wall), foxing or stains, etc. It's a nice item. Should you decide to part with it, I'd suggest eBay. You get a large audience and you can set a minimum price to pry it from you. But what that minimum is . . . ?

Away from The Green Hill Country,

Parmastahir
18 Jan, 2009
2009-1-18 8:50:58 AM UTC