Jlong
2 hours 23 minutes ago

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 4 5 »

4-Book Tolkien Deluxe Edition Collection Set from HC
Not too shy to talk
Group:
Fellowship
I'm quite new to the collecting scene, and I'd really like to add the HarperCollins J.R.R. Tolkien Collection (ISBN: 978-0-00-727356-0) to my shelves. I've tried in vain for months to obtain a set - it seemed that Fishpond.com.au was really going to ship me a set until, alas, they finally cancelled. The problem is that I live in the US and HC will only ship within the UK. It's priced on tolkien.co.uk at £200 and I'd like to get it to me for no more than around £225 ($350) if possible (I'm on a student budget). Any suggestions? Any help is much appreciated.

Posted on: 2012/1/30 7:53

Re: 4-Book Tolkien Deluxe Edition Collection Set from HC
Home away from home
Group:
Shirefolk
Fellowship
Hi
A nice set indeed. Have you thought about buying the books seperately. I bet you could get them a lot cheaper than £200. You would not have the slipcase I accept but if on a budget that is the way to do it i think or why not ask Harper Collins if they could do a discount?

Posted on: 2012/1/30 7:59

Not too shy to talk
Group:
Fellowship
The books that I've seen separately on ebay, Abebooks, etc. actually seem to be more expensive when put together (plus I would like the box!). Asking HC for a discount is a good idea, but how do I get the books to me in the US? I did email them once and they said they wouldn't ship to the US (and I don't know anyone well in the UK).

Posted on: 2012/1/30 8:24

Home away from home
Group:
Shirefolk
Fellowship
This box set is over 6 kilo and shipping costs to the US are more then 25 GBP for sure. I can deliver the set to you, but not at the price you are looking for.

Posted on: 2012/1/30 8:28

Not too shy to talk
Group:
Fellowship