Mythopoeic Society
The Mythopoeic Society just announced the 2008 Mythopoeic Award finalists. Of particular interest to Tolkien fans is the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies.

According to David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator for the Mythopoeic Society, "The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2005-2007) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The period of eligibility is three years."

The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon XXXIX, to be held from August 15-18, 2008, in New Britain, Connecticut.

Mythcon 39

It is a crowded field this year (as it has been the last few years) as there has been an incredible boom in Tolkien studies in particular. Wayne Hammond and Christina Scull took the award last year for The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and Guide, and all of the other finalists are rightfully included in this year's ballot for reconsideration, along with a few other candidates well worthy of consideration. The finalists for the Inklings Studies awards are:

Burns, Marjorie - Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien's Middle-earth(University of Toronto Press, 2005)

Flieger, Verlyn - Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien's Mythology (Kent
State University Press, 2005)

Gilliver, Peter, Jeremy Marshall, and Edmund Weiner - The Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary(Oxford University Press, 2006)

Glyer, Diana Pavlac; appendix by David Bratman - The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community (Kent State University Press,

Rateliff, John D. - The History of the Hobbit, Part One, Mr Baggins; Part Two, Return to Bag-End(HarperCollins, 2007)