Tolkien Collector's Guide
Important links:

Guide to Tolkien's Letters
-
Winner of the 2019 Tolkien Society award for Best Website

14 May, 2021
2021-5-14 10:41:23 PM UTC

Aelfwine wrote:

So, I don't want to derail the thread, but suffice it to say that while I developed an interest in Tolkien, linguistics, and Tolkienian linguistics long before I had any notion of working for NASA (and in fact linguistics preceded Tolkien), or even in becoming a professional computer programmer, I did enter university (1983) with a plan to seek a degree in Physics, which before I graduated became a degree in Computer Science. That, and being in the right place at the right time, is how I ended up working at NASA.

Me neither but thank you. I am always fascinated how people end up where they do. Especially two subjects as diverse as Tolkien and NASA.
14 May, 2021
2021-5-14 11:07:46 PM UTC
I don’t mind if the topic gets derailed ?. I also think it’s fascinating to combine Science with Languages/Tolkien.
15 May, 2021
2021-5-15 1:56:57 AM UTC

onthetrail wrote:

Hey Urulókë, maybe you should interview Carl he has a book coming out so I've heard.

Hmmmm, Mayyyyyybeeeeee.......

?
15 May, 2021 (edited)
2021-5-15 3:18:05 AM UTC

Ligandil wrote:

Thanks to Trotter for the help!

I have an additional question, for anyone who would like to help out:

Does anyone know any Old Norse/Icelandic grammars Tolkien might have used/be familiar with, especially as a student, or alternatively during his professor years?

Trotter checked for Guðbrandur Vigfússon and George Bayldon in Tolkien's Library, but there were no entries. Thanks in advance!

From Tolkien's Library:

• 262. Buckhurst, Helen T MacMillan. An Elementary Grammar of Old Icelandic. London: Methuen and Col Ltd. 1925. (Source: Philology: General Works VI 1927 for 1925 p. 57 n. 13.)